DE | EN

Classification plugins (Word, Excel, Powerpoint)

These plugins support you to classify your company and personal documents. We have defined four classes of documents:

Confidential

This information is intended only for a limited number of persons. In the case of loss, misuse or unauthorized handling of this information, the damage may be considerable. When you classify these files to “Confidential”, a suffix “_confidential” will be added to the filenames. When you want to print them, a Watermark will be added to your file. (It is possible to remove it if you want)

Internal
This information is only intended for a limited circle of persons (usually your company employees, possibly collaborating external persons), who are to be named, if not derivable from the context. In the case of loss, misuse or unauthorized handling of this information, the damage effects are limited and manageable. When you classify these files to “Internal”, no suffix will be added to the filenames.
Public
This is information which has already been published, are intended for publication or the unintentional publication of which would not cause any damage. When you classify these files to “Public”, a suffix “_public” will be added to the filenames.
Personal
This information is only for personal use. In some companies, the employees are allowed to use their devices for both personal and business purposes. They need extra consciousness regarding dealing with their documents. The unintentional publication of these files, though, cause no damage for the company, it is better to keep their personal files classified as “Personal” to avoid mixing them with work documents. When you classify these files to “Personal”, a suffix “_personal” will be added to the filenames.

Classification

You can classify the document via the ribbon “Classification” in the Home-Tab.

You can click on any of the available options to classify your document.

If you choose Confidential or Public classifications, as the document must be renamed together with the corresponding suffixes, the Plugin will ask you to save your document. If you choose Internal, you do not get this message. The classification will be saved any time you save your document.

If you want to classify the document as Personal, or want to see the classification history, or you want to modify some settings, click on the advanced option arrow.

Classification History

By clicking on the “History” button, you can see the history of the file classification. In the example below, you see that on the date 10/2/2018 at 2:02:17PM, the classification of the corresponding document is changed from “confidential” to “Public”. This is logged for future need!

Blacklisting

When you want to close a document that is not classified yet, you will be asked to classify it. You also have the option to “not classify” that specific document.

If it is an already saved document, which is not classified, you can blacklist it by marking the “Do not ask me again” checkbox. Now if you click on “Don’t Classify” button, the file will not be classified and there will be no further request for the classification on next times that you open the file.

Settings

When you click on “Settings” button, you have the possibility to add new blacklisted files or directories.
Additionally, you can set whether you want to add Confidential Watermark to your files, when being printed, or not.

Blacklisting

You can also exclude a directory from the classification. If you do so, all folders and Documents that exist in that directory will be blacklisted. It means that, you will not be asked to set a classification for them each time that you close those files. In order to blacklist an entire directory, you can add the directory in the textbox and press “Exclude from Classification”.

The blacklist (files and folders) is maintained in the following file:
C:\Users\<User>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Office\Office_Path_BlackList.txt

Watermark

As mentioned before, when you want to print a “Confidential” document, a Watermark will be added to your file. To remove this Confidential Watermark, you only need to remove the mark of the Watermark checkbox and press “Update Watermark”.

Outlook Plugin

The Outlook plugin is available in the “MYDATA Plugin” ribbon of Home-Tab. It warns you whenever you are sending sensitive documents to externals and if needed, it offers the possibility to protect them. Additionally, it provides some convenience features such as informing you whether you have forgotten to attach a file or not.

Missing attachments

You will get warnings for missing attachments. It works based on keyword detection.

Large Number of Recipients

You will get warnings when sending mail to more than 25 recipients.

Classified Attachments Warning

When you unintentionally send a Confidential or Internal file to externals, you get a warning message. However, first you need to define your internal domain. The recipients that are not included in the internal domain, will be considered as external recipients.
For example, you can set “@myCompany.de” as an internal domain. Additionally, you can add “john.doe@external.de” as a trusted person outside of your company to your internal domain.

When you attach a confidential document to an email is not in your internal domain, you receive a warning message. Additionally, a note will be added to the content of your email.

Classified Attachments Encryption

If you want to send a sensitive file to an external, the plugin provides you the option to encrypt the attachment via S/MIME or ZIP.

If you choose S/MIME, your company Smart Card is required and the receiver certificate needs to be known. If the recipient does not have a certificate, Outlook will display a warning.
You can choose to send the Email unencrypted or send it with a ZIP encryption.
If you choose the ZIP encryption, the attachments will be zipped and encrypted. You can copy the password and send it to the recipients on a secure/separate channel. On this version, we are only providing the password as you see in the following image. Do not forget to copy the password.

This is how the email you sent will look like:

Automatic Appointment Creation

You can click on the “Create Appointment” button to create an appointment on a date that is specified in the content of an email. If the mail contains more than one possible date, you will get a selection dialog.
It is also possible to mark a date and right click on it and then, choose the “Create Appointment” option.

Uninstallation

You can deactivate or remove any of the MYDATA Plugins similar to all Microsoft Office Plugins.
If you want to uninstall the plugins from your machine, you can uninstall it from the “Programs and Features”. You can also run the unins000.exe file from the directory in which the package is installed:
C:\Users\<User>\AppData\Local\MYDATA Office Plugin\uninstall\unins000.exe